How much do Google Ads Cost
Introduction to Google Ads:
Google Ads is a Google’s Pay Per Click advertisement platform in which you create ads, bid on some specific keywords (that are relevant no matter simple or long tail), and afterwards choose how much you would be willing to pay per click.
Spending on Google Ads is just like spending on a real life auction. For instance, you start an ad and bid on a keyword, if it’s higher than your competitor then whenever Google searches for that specific keyword, Google shows your ad on top of the search results page. Your ad is shown on top but with a sponsored tag with it, which means this ad is sponsored by Google.
As you can see in the above image, we searched for “web hosting services” and on top we got 2 “ad” with the sponsored tag. The best thing about Google ads is you are not going to pay for impressions or ad placement, you only have to pay when someone clicks on that ad. Additionally, there are also options for setting average daily budget and monthly Pay Per Click budget. This helps to stay on budget while posting ads on Google.
How Google Ads Works?
Before moving further with Google ads, it is necessary to understand how Google ads actually work as it assists you to set a budget for your Google ads campaigns in real time. Google ads figure out your Pay Per Click ad placement and google ads cost. The auction on a specific keyword begins, when a user searches something on Google. So, that specific query has keywords on which advertisers are bidding then the ad becomes eligible to go to auction. During ad action, the google ad cost per click and ad placement is determined by adwords and then it assigns an ad rank score. The ad rank score is calculated as:
[Maximum CPC bid] x [Ad’s Quality score]
Quality Score and CPC:
Now let’s understand how adwords determines the quality score and maximum CPC bid of your ad. So, Google determine the maximum CPC bid using Ad rank, with the formula,
Cost Per Click (CPC) = (Rank of Ad below your Ad ÷ Quality Score) + 0.01$
To determine quality score, three things are measured which are relevance (meaning how closely your ads relate to user intent), CTR or Click through Rate (percentage of users who watched the ad and take action) and landing page quality (when user clicks an ad then what was the quality of that page).
Google measures quality score from a 1 to 10 scale, in which 1 is the lowest score while 10 is the highest score. Hence, every keyword in your Google Ads account has a quality score assigned by Google.
Higher quality score means your ad and landing page is relevant to the target audience which can help your ad get better ad position and lower costs. If your competitors are bidding more than your ad will automatically rank higher. For example, your maximum bid for a specific keyword is 3$ while quality score 9 so, your Ad rank would be 3$ × 9 = 21. A person having the highest ad rank would win the top advertising place.
To find CPC we would continue with the previous example. So now let consider your competitor has quality score of 12 with maximum CPC of 7$; let’s apply this value in the CPC formula:
CPC = (12 ÷ 9) + 0.01$ = 1.34$
Cost of Google Ads in 2025:
The cost of Google Ads depends on different factors. For instance, on search results, average Google Ads CPC could be between 1$ and 2$ while on the other hand, in Google Display Network (Ads displaying on other websites) the average CPC will be under 1$. The Google Ads costs also depend on the expensiveness of keywords, such keyword’s cost per click can be 50$ or more. Such keywords are expensive due to high customer lifetime values like in law or insurance industries.
Big Firmes or companies can spend up to $50 million per year on Google Ads while small or midsize companies have an average monthly ad spending from $1,000 to $10,000. This depends on how much companies are willing to pay. Now, let’s identify the factors that can affect google ads pricing.
Factors that impact google ads pricing:
There is no perfectly fit answer for this specific question of how much will Google Ad costs to your business or vice versa but we determine some factors that impact Google Ads pricing. The Google advertising cost depends on your industry, current trends, Google Ads account management, quality score, keywords, bid and customer lifecycle. etc. Let’s explore each
1. Industry:
Google Ads pricing is majorly influenced by your industry. Some industries have more competitions on search results and queries than other industries. The higher people search a specific query, the more businesses try to rank their pages, the harder it will be to rank your ad and the more expensive it would be.
For instance, legal, accounting, real estate etc are the most competitive in Google Ads meaning it is difficult and costly to rank your ad on such businesses. This is because the type of industry as only one client can give $1,000 to $10,000 so a CPC of $10 is nothing in comparison to that price. While, businesses in real estate or arts and entertainment have lower CPCs as they have to reach more customers to cover up $1,000 to $10,000.
It doesn’t only depend on the type of industry, it also depends on the number of competitors. The more people try to get a higher rank, the more competitive it would be. So, let’s explore this as well.
2. Trends
The cost of Google Ads also depends on current market trends. If one specific thing is in trend and more people are searching for it, the more competitive it would become.
For example, there was a trend of “spinners” and people were continually buying that product but as time passed people minimized its use and hence it does not remain trendy. If you run an ad at that time, your ad cost would be high but if you run an ad now, it would be low. Google ads pricing also depends upon some other factors which are given below:
Increase in CTR:
Many industries encounter CTR increase but this does not mean lower costs. This is because of high user engagement and as engagement increases, competition also increases which ultimately means more advertisements or ad placements, leading to increase in CTR.
Increase in CPC:
Increase in CPC is also seen in some industries. This is because advertisers bid on the same keywords which increase the competition. So, you need high budgets to compete with your competitors and maintain visibility.
Increase in CPL:
CPL is cost per lead which rises in almost every industry as acquiring leads is becoming more expensive. Customizing your ad strategies and making your ad more relevant can help in lower CPL.
3. Ads Type:
Google Ad costs depend on ad type, meaning what type of ad you are publishing on Google also impacts the google ads prices. There are 5 different types of Google ads that are generally used:
Google Display Ads:
Whenever you move into a website or open an app, you must have seen different ads which are the example of Google Display Ads (GDN). Google Display Ads are shown to the users based on their interests, content they view or demographics.
- Google Search Ads:
These are the ads that you saw on Google’s search engine results pages. Whenever users search something with a specific keyword, these ads are shown to the user with the tag of “sponsored”. These ads help you to connect with your potential customers who are searching the market for what you offer.
- Google Shopping Ads:
Google shopping ads display products in search results with price details and user ratings. These ads provide a quick look at the product features to users. Google show these ads in different positions of SERP. Most of them appear on top of the page or on the right side of the page.
- Bidding Strategy:
Your bidding strategy can impact your Google Ads cost by identifying how much you would pay for clicks and conversions. Google ads bidding involves setting up the maximum amount you will pay per click or some other interactions. Your bidding means you have entered into an ad auction which will compete with others.
Bidding is divided into two categories: manual bidding and automated bidding. Manual bidding helps you set the max google advertising cost you are willing to pay. It is helpful if you already know which keyword can give you more clicks and conversions. Automated bidding helps you to set bids depending upon your ad’s clicks and conversions. In automated bidding, machine learning is utilized to optimize for conversions that align bids as per your campaign goals.
How much do Google Ads cost?
Google Ads cost depends on the expected revenue that you want to generate from a customer. In highly competitive industries, advertisers are willing to spend more than $10 per click on average as they would generate more revenue per customer. Identifying the related value of per customer revenue and how much you are willing to spend is important.
If you are starting to run a Google Ad then start with the low google ads prices. Always monitor your PPC campaigns performance and see a better ROI (return on investment) while considering your Google Ads budget increase.
One of the crucial benefits is testing online ads. Some print ads do not provide this flexibility. Although, you can keep adjusting PPC ads as you see it fit. So, you are able to understand what works for you and what doesn’t You can also optimize it for the best return on investment. Before investing your money in Google Ads, you should go through the following:
- Create high quality and intriguing ads
- Research keywords while paying attention to your customers preferences
- Put your effort in optimizing products and services of your landing pages
- Analyze your competitors and identify what’s work for and determine innovative ways to change successful strategies and create more attractive offers.
Is it worth to pay for google ads:
Most of the people go to Google whenever they want to search on the internet. Google has more than 91% of global search, making it the largest paid search platform when it is compared with other search engines. Hence, it is a platform where you can reach more audiences. With that, brands are also happy to spend on Google ads.
Additionally, a study shows that Pay per Click ads can generate double visitors then SEO. This makes it a worthy investment to get quick results. Around 65% of people, when looking to buy something, click on Google ads. If the ad resonates with audience needs, it gets clicks and ultimately generates conversions.
Hence, all these statistics show that Google Ad investment is worth it. If you spend on Google Ad (with correct details and vice versa), your ad will get clicks and conversions.